Monday, May 5, 2008

PIC microcontroller architecture

Let us see about the architecture categories in PIC microcontroller

Microchips 8 bit PIC microcontrollers fall into three product architecture categories providing a variety of option for any application requirement
  • Baseline 8 bit architecture - 12 bit program word
  • Midrange 8 bit architecture - 14 bit program word
  • High performance 8 bit architecture - 16 bit program word
  1. Baseline Architecture - The baseline architecture includes the PIC10F family and portion of the PIC12 and PIC16 families. These devices utilize 12 bit program word architecture with 6 to 28-pin package options. The concisely defined feature set of baseline architecture enables the most cost-effective product solutions. This architecture is ideal for battery operated applications. The PIC10F200 series provides another industry first, an inexpensive 8 bit flash microcontroller in a six pin package.
  2. Midrange Architecture - The midrange architecture includes members of the PIC12 and PIC16 framilies that feature 14-bit program word architecture. These families are available with 8 to 64 package options. The midrange PIC16 devices offer a wide range of package options, as well as low to high levels of peripheral integration. This PIC16 device features various serial, analog and digital peripherals, such as USB, SPI, I2C, USART, LCD and A/D converters. The mid-range PIC16 microcontrollers have interrupt handling capability with an 8 level hardware stack.
  3. Highperformance Architecture - The high performance architecture encompassed the PIC18 family of devices. These microcontrollers utilize 16 bit program word architecture with 18 to 100 pin package options. The PIC18 devices are high jperformance microcontrollers with integrated A/D converters. All PIC18 microcontrollers incorporate an advanced RISC architecture that supports flash devices. The PIC18 has enhanced core features, 32 level deep stack and multiple internal and external interrupts.

No comments: